Life in Lithuania #3 – More Cultural Shocks

Wonder_TroleyBus Drivers – I’ve never seen so much women as bus drivers in my life. A lot of European that come here say the same, so I think this is something unique and from my point of view very positive.

checkoutRobot Cashier – Can you imagine the surprise I had when I realized that at some supermakerts I can pay my items to a machine and not a real human being ??? This is freaking amazing for me. I feel like in a futuristic film. FYI: I’ve been to Germany and Poland where you can buy your bus/train/metro tickets to a machine and validate it with another one. I felt he same way there 🙂

ShockStatic Electricity Shocks – During Winter, because of the low air humidity, I get shocked most of the time my hands enter in contact with a metal surface. It bothers me so much that sometimes I have to wait for someone to open the door for me or open them with some rubber (Similar to Leonardo Di Caprio character in The Aviator movie). Believe me, I tried everything even an Anti-Static spay. Interesting how this doesn’t happen to Lithuanians.

winterWeather prediction – Europeans trust more than Latin Americans in weather predictions. If today is Monday and they want to go to Palanga for the weekend, they will check the weather forecast and trust it fully. Very interesting. In Brazil we are not used to do this and comedians make A LOT of bad jokes regarding inaccurate weather prediction.

Laura Asadauskaitė-Zadneprovskienė   gold medal at the 2012 Summer Olympics in London

Laura, fast Lithuanian

Fast Walkers – Lithuanians walk really FAST !!! WOW !!! If we had a zombie apocalypse and Lithuanians were turned into Zombies, we would be all dead within a week. (I heard from them that British are faster, but I don’t know that yet)

Christmas tree at PNV

Christmas tree at PNV

Panevėžys – It is the 5th largest city and I just passed there by bus. Half of my friends from Vilnius come from that city and they are very very very smart and talented. It happened several time that I met a very creative Lithuanians and I ask them: “Maybe you are from PNV”; and their reply “How did you know that :DDD ?”. All of them tell me there are some social issues in the city and I shouldn’t go there. 

Tea

Tea – I never drank hot tea in my life. Here in Lithuania I got addicted to it. I put a lot of sugar in it and people find it funny (the same situation lived by another Brazilian friend of mine)

Eating – Maybe Europeans are like this, but for me it is almost impossible to have a meal without drinking anything at all. One girl told me it is a healthy habit not to drink with a meal, nzn.

angrybirdsBirds – They are so friendly that you can almost touch them. Some foreigners told me that they are fatter than in other European countries. Talking about birds, am I the only one that noticed that Lithuanians love Angry Birds ?

nextbusBus stops – In Lithuania you can find: the name of the stop; number of buses that stop there; the schedule of the buses; in some of them a computer saying in how many minutes the next ones will arrive and in other ones there is a complete map. When you want to go somewhere you can use an application to plan your trip and know how much time it will take to get to your destiny.

In Belo Horizonte, Brazil; you can find the list of the buses that stop there, sometimes the bus stop name. And that it is. If you are lucky you might find a map. Google Maps is starting to be used among young people.
In Panama (and a lot of other countries), you only know that a bus stops there…….. But hey, the system is finally improving and now you can hear a lady announcing the next stop 🙂

BusStop

If you would like me to talk about any specific subject in my next post, please let me know in the comments below. I promise to talk about each city in my next posts. Thanks for your support 🙂

Check my other posts related to Lithuania:)
#1 Work Enviroment
#2 Cultural Shocks
#3 More Cultural Shocks
#4 Kissing, streets, sun and soviet times
#5 Girls Girls Girls !!
#6 Food
#7 You are (not) my friend
#8 Beach walk, flowers, quiz and mosquitoes
#9 Russia

This entry was posted in Europe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Life in Lithuania #3 – More Cultural Shocks

  1. Jurgitta says:

    Hi, thanks for your posts! it’s really intresting to read how foreigner see our country 🙂 What about lithuanian national food? Did you taste it, did you like it?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tomas says:

    Did you ever saw real Lithuanian contryside, nature?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Milda says:

    It’s funny, because it’s true. Well written 🙂
    I agree, sometimes we are racing in the street and if you are walking fast it means you’re a busy man.
    People from PNV are very good or very bad…
    P.S. I also get a lot of electricity shocks

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Vytenis says:

    Some people from Panevezys are really good at being bad ^^

    Like

  5. Mantas says:

    Please more posts!

    Like

  6. Ginta says:

    How about lithuanian girls? 😀

    Like

  7. You get shocked by static electricity because of what you wear — synthetic clothing is the culprit.

    Like

  8. Pingback: New York vs Lithuania or Europe | Life in Lithuania & Eurotrips

Leave a Reply

